dcstep
Major General
United_States
Rep
Drives: '09 Cpe Silverstone FR 6MT

Garage List
2009 M3  [8.40]
Field Review of EOS 5D Mark IV

I'm mainly a wildlife photographer, shooting fast moving birds and mammals in all kinds of light and shooting mammals, like deer and coyote, 30-minutes before sunrise and 30-minutes after. I need a body that has autofocus ("AF") that locks on quickly to the subject and tracks accurately as the subject moves up, down and sideways relative to the camera. I need a lot of focal length, particularly for birds and my base rig includes an EF 500mm f/4L IS II, often combined with my 1.4x and 2.0x TC-III.

My Canon bodies have included the 5D2, 5D3, 5DS-R, 7D and 7D2. My 7D MkII has been my go-to body since it was first released. It's AF was incrementally better than the 5D MkIII and its high pixel-density allowed for cropping focal-length limited shots and still retaining high detail, often without a TC attached. The sacrifice, caused my the high pixel-density, was high noise levels above ISO 1600. While the AF was good, compared to predecessors, it was a constant struggle with the bare lens and the 1.4x TC-III and unusable with the 2.0x TC-III. (If you lost AF on a moving target, it would typcially take around a second to reacquire focus). Any series of bird-in-flight shots would have a couple OOF.

So, when I borrowed a 5D4 from Canon Professional Services, I was interested to see how well it performed in high-ISO situation and how its AF compared to the 7D2.

The first evening that I had the body, I came upon a handsome white-tail buck, about 20-minutes after sundown. Two experienced shooters that I know were at the same location, shooting 7D2s with 100-400mm II combos. I had the 5D4 with the 500/1.4x combo, shooting 700mm, hand held, at ISO 3200. Here's my favorite shot from a number of nice images:

Big Buck After Sundown by David Stephens, on Flickr