BMW X5
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

10-04-2021, 09:36 PM   #1
5pacey
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: '15 X5, '22 X5e

How much worse is your mpg with 21" wheels?

So I've been driving an F15 since 2015. With optional fancier wheels - 20" staggered 275/315, vs 19" symmetrical. The mileage I get is 15.7 mpg from an x35i. This is way below the advertised mileage of 20-25 mpg if I recall. I was told by numerous mechanics as well as google that this is due to larger wheels. This is also apparent when you configure a Tesla, select the optional cooler wheels, which are also larger, and you get a hit in the car's range.

So... Has anyone compared mileage between the stock 20" wheels and the optional 21" wheels on a say x45e ? (disclaimer - i have an x45e on order and can still tweak the options)

Last edited by 5pacey; 10-05-2021 at 12:39 AM..
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2021, 02:03 PM   #2
dananelson1
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 22 X5 45e, 13 X5xdrive50i SOLD

I'm in the same boat as you...debating wheels on prebuild. I've asked this of several members and there doesn't seem to be a noticeable difference per several folks...but I'd love to hear more. Though intuition would tell me, you might see some fractional differences if tested in a vacuum.

I have a xDrive50i with the same 20" staggered and get closer to 17+mpg all around....as low as 15 pure city/stop/go and high as 21mpg on a all freeway road trip cruising 80. BTW, How are you at 15mpg on your 35i? You are either driving super hard all the time, haven't calculated something properly over a full tank (double check with old school fill up and reset mileage vs looking at dash computer?) or something is off? Anyway, good luck...

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5pacey View Post