BMW X5
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-24-2019, 12:59 PM   #23
hybrid_eg
Lieutenant
hybrid_eg's Avatar
United_States
296
Rep
563
Posts

Drives: '90 S13, '17 F85, '18 F90
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Orange County

iTrader: (19)

if you're building new construction, do yourself a favor and at least pre-wire the house fully.. you should have a closet someplace where all structured wiring will go. Now is the time to figure out all TV locations, speaker locations, camera locations, etc.. then run all that Cat6.. since all of this stuff is LV you will not need to have any conduit at least not here in CA. If you end up staying in the house long term you can start adding equipment little by little as that's usually where the biggest expense is, but at least this way you're fully pre-wired for home automation.. it should help with resale as well.

I have Control4 system and love it..
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2019, 01:16 PM   #24
zx10guy
Colonel
2403
Rep
2,441
Posts

Drives: 2013 135i
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: DC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by glennQNYC View Post
It used to be CAT5e was the standard, and CAT6e was the upgrade. I find now CAT6e is the standard, and CAT7 or fiber is the upgrade.

Definitely plan for a hard-wired network including plenty of access points. Don't forget about outdoor access points and surveillance cabling. You want as much things hard wired to the network as possible, this way you're leaving WiFi capability for the devices that can't be hard wired.

I'd pull at least 3 CAT6e to anyplace with a TV. You'll want one for the TV to connect to the network; one for video signal (via HDMI extender); and one spare.

I'd want dedicated 20A circuits with isolated grounds for my audio/video gear; perhaps even a 220v outlet for some real hardcore subs... but you don't sound as crazy about AV as I am.
I would still recommend doing Cat6a. And fiber gets into a whole rat hole. I've had many debates with others about whether fiber is a good idea for home use. The problem with fiber is it's expensive and is not as future proof as many think it is....I guess within reason. For a while 62.5 micron multimode fiber was thought to be good enough. Then 10Gig Ethernet came out and 62.5 micron was no longer adequate. So 50 micron multimode fiber hit the market. As speeds increased with Ethernet, you then have subsets of quality of 50 micron fiber with OM2, OM3, and OM4. So far the only fiber I've found that has weathered the test of time is 9 micron single mode fiber. Going to single mode fiber exponentially increases the cost of already expensive multi mode fiber entry. Not to mention, fiber is very particular with how it's installed and such with bend radius considerations. Another idea for fiber installations is PONs (passive optical network). At work, I've seen discussions of the use of PONs in the office space to distribute network connectivity to each cubicle. I've seen implementation of PONs which also provide provisions for PoE power. I don't know how expensive it is to deploy. And I can say I haven't run across any of my clients/customers that have actually taken the leap to use PONs.

When I had my A/V room built out, I did do dedicated power circuits for my equipment where the regular outlets and lights were a different circuit to minimize any potential noise from things such as light dimmers. I also went the extra step and had balanced power transformers installed and a rack version of the hard wired balanced power transformers to feed the source equipment in my rack. The hard wired balanced transformers are feeding my two Velodyne subs and the Bryston 6B-ST amp.


__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lups View Post
We might not be in an agreement on Trump, but I'll be the first penis chaser here to say I'll rather take it up in the ass than to argue with you on this.
Appreciate 2
      12-24-2019, 02:07 PM   #25
pennsiveguy
Captain
pennsiveguy's Avatar
United_States
2812
Rep
904
Posts

Drives: F15 xDrive50i M-sport
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Edina, MN

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by hybrid_eg View Post
if you're building new construction, do yourself a favor and at least pre-wire the house fully.. you should have a closet someplace where all structured wiring will go. Now is the time to figure out all TV locations, speaker locations, camera locations, etc.. then run all that Cat6.. since all of this stuff is LV you will not need to have any conduit at least not here in CA. If you end up staying in the house long term you can start adding equipment little by little as that's usually where the biggest expense is, but at least this way you're fully pre-wired for home automation.. it should help with resale as well.

I have Control4 system and love it..
I'd also recommend setting up a 19" comm gear rack, either hanging from the ceiling or mounted to the wall. You can buy the rack rails really inexpensively. That way you have the option of rack-mounted switches, firewalls, routers, NAS boxes, etc. And you can put shelves in it for non-rackmount gear. Get a Furman power conditioner for it and mount that at the top of the rack.
__________________
2017 F15 xDrive50i M Sport | Superformance GT40 Roush 511 IR FE | 2006 Ford GT
Appreciate 1
hybrid_eg295.50

      12-24-2019, 05:28 PM   #26
hybrid_eg
Lieutenant
hybrid_eg's Avatar
United_States
296
Rep
563
Posts

Drives: '90 S13, '17 F85, '18 F90
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Orange County

iTrader: (19)

Absolutely! Pipe everything into a rack big enough where you can expand into fully later. I barely got started..


Last edited by hybrid_eg; 12-30-2019 at 12:25 PM..
Appreciate 1
      12-24-2019, 06:46 PM   #27
jimbobiggens
First Lieutenant
jimbobiggens's Avatar
United_States
473
Rep
322
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i xDrive
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: jackson tn

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Think about how much technology has changed in the last twenty years. Twenty years ago the CD was just then replacing the cassette player. Now CD's are almost obsolete with the advent of MP3 and jump drives. The point is now is the time to take a shot at future-proofing the house.

AC wireless and 10gig Ethernet should hold up pretty well. Ten years from now those will be like N wireless and Cat 6a cable today - better options will be available, but those two will still be usable.

If you plan to stay twenty years or more, it really, really won't hurt to run everything in conduit to make the inevitable upgrades as painless as possible.
__________________
I'm not completely useless, I can be used as a bad example.
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2019, 07:52 PM   #28
TXSTYLE
BIGMARCUS
TXSTYLE's Avatar
United_States
5477
Rep
2,796
Posts

Drives: F01 & F15 / Mineral White
Join Date: May 2013
Location: The GYM! (The Burbs - N TX)

iTrader: (0)

Like we did 2yrs ago in our new house: Cat 6 Cables throughout!
And depending on where you are, I strongly suggest Radiant Barrier in the roof.
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2019, 08:09 PM   #29
Dog Face Pony Soldier
2006 TIME Person Of The Year
Dog Face Pony Soldier's Avatar
United_States
6962
Rep
5,496
Posts

Drives: M Sport 335i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: North Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 335i  [4.87]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbobiggens View Post
AC wireless and 10gig Ethernet should hold up pretty well.
802.11AC Wave2 FTW
Cost no object I like Ruckus APs; otherwise Ubiquity delivers an awesome value.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2019, 08:24 PM   #30
bigrum
Private
bigrum's Avatar
United_States
126
Rep
59
Posts

Drives: 17 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Inside Salma Hayek (Seattle/Eastside)

iTrader: (0)

I always thought the outlets underneath the outside awnings of the roof we're cool for clean holiday lighting.

I also have ethernet in every room and use it whenever I can, as others said it is always faster than my wifi.
Appreciate 1
vreihen161519.50

      12-25-2019, 12:49 AM   #31
AlpineWhite_SJ
Lieutenant
AlpineWhite_SJ's Avatar
United_States
548
Rep
455
Posts

Drives: 2018 F80 M3 ZCP, 2020 F97 X3MC
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbobiggens View Post
Think about how much technology has changed in the last twenty years. Twenty years ago the CD was just then replacing the cassette player. Now CD's are almost obsolete with the advent of MP3 and jump drives. The point is now is the time to take a shot at future-proofing the house.

AC wireless and 10gig Ethernet should hold up pretty well. Ten years from now those will be like N wireless and Cat 6a cable today - better options will be available, but those two will still be usable.

If you plan to stay twenty years or more, it really, really won't hurt to run everything in conduit to make the inevitable upgrades as painless as possible.
I donít believe thereís such thing when it comes to home infrastructure. My parents built in 2006, which if you think about it, was still pretty mp3, DVD, 1080p centric. Fast forward to today and itís more about streaming services, 4K soon to be 8k, way more tablets/phones, home assistants and IP cameras. What they put in back then is obsolete or at least severely limiting towards what people today expect to do nowadays. Doing state of the art doesnít always work out on the time horizon a lot of people have for living in their house.
__________________
/// 2018 Alpine White on Black F80 M3 - 6MT ZCP ZEP / 3D Design billet handbrake lever, pedals, CF side skirts & rear diffuser / Sterckenn gloss black lip / IND alpine white front reflectors /// 2020 Donnington Grey on Black F97 X3MC ///
Appreciate 1
FCobra942474.50

      12-25-2019, 09:28 AM   #32
jimbobiggens
First Lieutenant
jimbobiggens's Avatar
United_States
473
Rep
322
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i xDrive
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: jackson tn

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
My house was built in '74. I installed cat 5 in every room in '94 (when I bought the house) Two years ago I replaced all the cat 5 with cat 6 and ran cat 6 to my shop.
If Elon Musk has his way, twenty years from now we all will have Starlink Gen 10.0 wireless.
__________________
I'm not completely useless, I can be used as a bad example.
Appreciate 0
      12-25-2019, 12:36 PM   #33
bimmer456
Major General
2068
Rep
5,458
Posts

Drives: 340i
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Pasadena, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbobiggens View Post
My house was built in '74. I installed cat 5 in every room in '94 (when I bought the house) Two years ago I replaced all the cat 5 with cat 6 and ran cat 6 to my shop.
If Elon Musk has his way, twenty years from now we all will have Starlink Gen 10.0 wireless.
I brought some cat 7 cable 15 years ago.
Appreciate 0
      12-25-2019, 01:04 PM   #34
dreamingat30fps
Major
United_States
853
Rep
1,209
Posts

Drives: 2014 C7, 2017 F350
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pennsiveguy View Post
I'd also recommend setting up a 19" comm gear rack, either hanging from the ceiling or mounted to the wall. You can buy the rack rails really inexpensively. That way you have the option of rack-mounted switches, firewalls, routers, NAS boxes, etc. And you can put shelves in it for non-rackmount gear. Get a Furman power conditioner for it and mount that at the top of the rack.
Dafuq you doing running porn sites out of your house??

I consider myself pretty tech savvy and have waaaaay more connected devices than the average person. I have never had an issue with my wifi on any of my devices. Maybe if you have 20 people in the house all trying to stream and download stuff, but I would imagine even then you would run out of bandwidth from your ISP before you maxed out a good wireless setup.
Appreciate 1
vreihen161519.50

      12-25-2019, 02:39 PM   #35
Red Bread
Major General
United_States
3488
Rep
8,445
Posts

Drives: Smog machines
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Dallas, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamingat30fps View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by pennsiveguy View Post
I'd also recommend setting up a 19" comm gear rack, either hanging from the ceiling or mounted to the wall. You can buy the rack rails really inexpensively. That way you have the option of rack-mounted switches, firewalls, routers, NAS boxes, etc. And you can put shelves in it for non-rackmount gear. Get a Furman power conditioner for it and mount that at the top of the rack.
Dafuq you doing running porn sites out of your house??

I consider myself pretty tech savvy and have waaaaay more connected devices than the average person. I have never had an issue with my wifi on any of my devices. Maybe if you have 20 people in the house all trying to stream and download stuff, but I would imagine even then you would run out of bandwidth from your ISP before you maxed out a good wireless setup.
I work from home with Google Fiber. It's around 500-800 mb/s over Cat7 and about 150-250mb/s over AC wireless. I send and receive large files all day. That slower wireless speed is painful when I'm not connected to the wired setup.
Appreciate 2
FCobra942474.50

      12-25-2019, 03:05 PM   #36
zx10guy
Colonel
2403
Rep
2,441
Posts

Drives: 2013 135i
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: DC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamingat30fps View Post
Dafuq you doing running porn sites out of your house??

I consider myself pretty tech savvy and have waaaaay more connected devices than the average person. I have never had an issue with my wifi on any of my devices. Maybe if you have 20 people in the house all trying to stream and download stuff, but I would imagine even then you would run out of bandwidth from your ISP before you maxed out a good wireless setup.
I guess you would go into shock with what I have running in my server room. Yes, I said server room....it's actually been called a mini data center by many of my colleagues.

As to wireless performance, it really depends on the wireless NIC in the devices, what type of usage is being done from each client and how many simultaneously, and environmental factors such as house construction and ambient RF interference. Also thinking that one should have their network built out according to what their ISP provides is a bit short sighted. There are plenty of reasons why one would utilize more bandwidth than what is provisioned by their ISP. The whole LAN vs WAN networking. It's common place in enterprise businesses where a WAN circuit isn't close to what the organization is running on their LAN/data center.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lups View Post
We might not be in an agreement on Trump, but I'll be the first penis chaser here to say I'll rather take it up in the ass than to argue with you on this.
Appreciate 1
      12-25-2019, 03:32 PM   #37
wdb
dances with roads
wdb's Avatar
United_States
1870
Rep
2,727
Posts

Drives: '07 Z4MC, '07 E93 328i
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: the perimeter

iTrader: (4)

Great thread. I ran 5e everywhere I could back when the walls were open and 5e was the top stuff. I have a couple of rooms in which it's never been used but, hey, the walls were open.

One thing I wish I had taken more into consideration is battery backup power. I live in the wooded boondocks and we have frequent enough outages that we have a generator. However it is not instantaneous. So I have small battery backup units all over the place to insulate my sensitive and expensive electronics. I kind of wish I had run 120V power cabling to all of the same locations I had run the 5e. That would have allowed me to centralize my battery backup.

EDIT: Just read back through that. Yikes. I sound like I'm preparing for a zombie apocalypse.
Appreciate 1
FCobra942474.50

      12-25-2019, 06:29 PM   #38
vreihen16
Lieutenant
United_States
1520
Rep
449
Posts

Drives: 2015 BMW i3 BEV
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Orange County, NY

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Put whatever wire you want into the walls/floors/ceilings, but don't staple it down. Should you ever need to use one of those runs, whatever wire you install will serve as a good drag line to pull the cable du jour when the time comes.....
__________________
2015 BMW i3 BEV, Giga World (Lodge interior), Tech/Driving Assist Packages, 18K miles
Appreciate 2
Red Bread3487.50
FCobra942474.50

      12-25-2019, 07:37 PM   #39
pennsiveguy
Captain
pennsiveguy's Avatar
United_States
2812
Rep
904
Posts

Drives: F15 xDrive50i M-sport
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Edina, MN

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamingat30fps View Post
Dafuq you doing running porn sites out of your house??

I consider myself pretty tech savvy and have waaaaay more connected devices than the average person. I have never had an issue with my wifi on any of my devices. Maybe if you have 20 people in the house all trying to stream and download stuff, but I would imagine even then you would run out of bandwidth from your ISP before you maxed out a good wireless setup.
I'm on CenturyLink fiber at 1Gb/s up and down. Getting my money's worth out of that bandwidth, and running a site-to-site VPN, means running a dedicated firewall/edge router with some horsepower and hardware encryption/decryption. A rackmount 1U 2-socket server with dual 10Gbe ports fills the bill nicely.

I also have a 36TB 12-drive rack-mount NAS server that holds my media, source code, and documents. I have an Oracle database on a dedicated 6U server, and a VM server with 24 processor cores and a half-terabyte of RAM. All mounted in a rack. Having a bunch of stuff on shelves or on the floor would be a huge waste of space and a hassle to wire and clean and work around.

My electric bill is around $250 a month in the winter, and about $500 a month in the summer when I'm running the AC. The server room pulls about 30-35 amps steady current draw.

And no, I don't host porn. I run a tech consulting company. Same money, without having to split it with a bunch of bimboes.
__________________
2017 F15 xDrive50i M Sport | Superformance GT40 Roush 511 IR FE | 2006 Ford GT
Appreciate 2
vreihen161519.50
FCobra942474.50

      12-25-2019, 07:58 PM   #40
Dave 90TT
Colonel
United_States
1880
Rep
2,141
Posts

Drives: BSM 6MT M4 F82
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Colorado Springs

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vreihen16 View Post
Put whatever wire you want into the walls/floors/ceilings, but don't staple it down. Should you ever need to use one of those runs, whatever wire you install will serve as a good drag line to pull the cable du jour when the time comes.....
That's what conduits are for.
Appreciate 0
      12-25-2019, 08:22 PM   #41
zx10guy
Colonel
2403
Rep
2,441
Posts

Drives: 2013 135i
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: DC

iTrader: (0)

I'll just leave this here since people are sharing their setups....

And yes, the cabling is a mess but it's my lab and I keep changing crap around.


__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lups View Post
We might not be in an agreement on Trump, but I'll be the first penis chaser here to say I'll rather take it up in the ass than to argue with you on this.
Appreciate 1
      12-25-2019, 11:41 PM   #42
dreamingat30fps
Major
United_States
853
Rep
1,209
Posts

Drives: 2014 C7, 2017 F350
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pennsiveguy View Post
I'm on CenturyLink fiber at 1Gb/s up and down. Getting my money's worth out of that bandwidth, and running a site-to-site VPN, means running a dedicated firewall/edge router with some horsepower and hardware encryption/decryption. A rackmount 1U 2-socket server with dual 10Gbe ports fills the bill nicely.

I also have a 36TB 12-drive rack-mount NAS server that holds my media, source code, and documents. I have an Oracle database on a dedicated 6U server, and a VM server with 24 processor cores and a half-terabyte of RAM. All mounted in a rack. Having a bunch of stuff on shelves or on the floor would be a huge waste of space and a hassle to wire and clean and work around.

My electric bill is around $250 a month in the winter, and about $500 a month in the summer when I'm running the AC. The server room pulls about 30-35 amps steady current draw.

And no, I don't host porn. I run a tech consulting company. Same money, without having to split it with a bunch of bimboes.
Server rack at homme, 36TB of storage, penis username... you ain't fooling no one buddy!
Appreciate 1
FCobra942474.50

      12-25-2019, 11:53 PM   #43
dreamingat30fps
Major
United_States
853
Rep
1,209
Posts

Drives: 2014 C7, 2017 F350
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Bread View Post
I work from home with Google Fiber. It's around 500-800 mb/s over Cat7 and about 150-250mb/s over AC wireless. I send and receive large files all day. That slower wireless speed is painful when I'm not connected to the wired setup.
I work from home also but I guess I just don't deal with big enough files. My internet is around 80Mbps-100Mbps which is fine for 99% of what I do (plus it's "free" with my HOA). Only time I wish it was a bit faster is the rare occasion I have to download a 50GB game on my xbox or pc... that takes a bit longer than I would like, but that's an ISP issue not so much wireless. Considering when I was a kid it would take longer than that just to download a jpg far enough to see some nip... can't complain.

Only thing I have hardwired is my little Qnap NAS but that's like 3 feet from my computers so no issues running a cable behind the desk. Even then I rarely need to transfer big enough files to matter much.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zx10guy View Post
I'll just leave this here since people are sharing their setups....

And yes, the cabling is a mess but it's my lab and I keep changing crap around.
If you have that shit in your closet then I'm guessing you most certainly need some cat7 cabling.
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2019, 07:39 AM   #44
MADBMWX3
First Lieutenant
MADBMWX3's Avatar
United_States
168
Rep
327
Posts

Drives: 2019 BMW X3 M40i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northern Virginia

iTrader: (0)

Before walls come completely up ( I assume you are using sheet rock), take a picture of where the wire is going. I did this and it paid dividends when I connector went bad and I was able to pin point where it was behind the wall.
__________________
2019 BMW X3 M40i Black Metallic Sapphire
Before 2013 BMW X1 and 2005 BMW X3
2017 Ford Expedition King Ranch
2006 Ford Mustang GT Convertible (show car)
Appreciate 2
zx10guy2402.50
FCobra942474.50

Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 AM.




xbimmers
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST