PeterK1
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: 2021 X5

Garage List
2022 BMW M440i  [0.00]
2021 BMW X5  [0.00]
Newbie here with 2020 xDrive 40i

My daughters's inheritance took a bit of a hit today when I ordered a new X5. I have had several MB E450's since 2002 punctuated with a short spell with a 550i sedan (which I never really liked) and it was time for change. My wife has been driving Acura SUV's and for a number of reasons we decided to switch me into an SUV and get her the new TLX sedan. One key factor is that in "normal" years we drive down to California in the SUV to spend the winters my MB sits in the garage up here for five months. Our most expensive car was sitting, depreciating and not been driven (10K kms in two years)

The X5 is Tanzanite Blue with Tartufo meridian seats and comes with the M Sport and Premium Excellence Package. The Excellence package has pretty well all the bells and whistles which are fun to have but if past experience holds up I will pretty forget about using them after the initial "newness" wears off. The car should be here in a couple of weeks.

The other vehicles I considered were the new Genesis GV80 and the Audi Q7 but I decided the Genesis while good value was new and untested and the Q7 wasn't as fun to drive as the X5.

I have been lurking on this forum for a couple of weeks and have learned much. One invaluable thing I learned was that the 2021 cars do have the ability to cancel the Auto/off feature. Although I understand the mild hybrid is smoother than the older cars it is a feature that I strongly dislike. I had ordered a 2021 car but fortunately read the long thread on the subject and was able to change my order. Interestingly both the salesperson and sales manager were not aware of the missing button on the 2021's.

I expect I will be asking lots of questions in the next few months and hope to be able to contribute once I am familiar with the X5
Appreciate 0
      10-20-2020, 04:08 PM   #2
Finito84
Private
United_States
Rep