E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Tracking, Autocrossing, Dragstrip, Driving Techniques > why not activate ABS when braking?

02-05-2015, 12:44 AM   #1
marvin1992
Private
Rep
Drives: 335i

why not activate ABS when braking?

hey guys so I am a complete noob about tracking cars, but I have a question. From my understanding the best thing to do is to brake as late as possible and brake hard before the turn. But if you brake fully with the ABS activated, you would slow down faster, so why is it that it is recommended to press the brake, but only to the point before they lock up? wouldn't it be faster around a track to brake later utilizing the ABS and then corner?
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2015, 09:48 AM   #2
Cloud9blue
Brigadier General
United_States
Rep
Drives: around the potholes

You don't stop faster with ABS, as you are constantly breaking traction and regaining traction. Put into a simpler term, your tires can only generate max traction when it is just about losing traction. Therefore, you need modulate your brake pedal for max. Threshold braking performance.

Also constantly trigger abs generate incredible amount of stress on your brake and suspension components.
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2015, 12:32 PM   #3
The HACK
Midlife Crises Racing Silent but Deadly Class
Rep
Drives: 2006 MZ4C, 2021 Tesla Model 3

Your understanding of braking technique for tracking is incorrect. I would highly recommend that if you're going to explore your car's capability on track, to do it with an organization that can provide proper training for you. Otherwise you'll soon find your car wadded into a wall.