F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Cosmetic and Lighting Modifications (exterior & interior) > Vinyl wrapping trial and failure. Any ideas?
Studio RSR

08-01-2015, 05:31 PM   #1
QuikSilver_
Captain
No_Country
Rep
Drives: 2016 F36 M Sport

Garage List
Vinyl wrapping trial and failure. Any ideas?

So I wanted to vinyl wrap my roof in gloss black, and in an effort to save money, I considered DIY over taking it to a shop. Seeing as how I have no experience in vinyl wrapping, I decided to buy a small roll (3M 1080 series gloss black, 5ft x 1ft) and test out my skills on the mirror caps. Pulling those suckers off was hard enough, but that's another story.

Wrapping the front part of the caps was pretty easy, which made me feel really good about the project. Then I got to top and side curved parts of the caps, and that confidence was immediately decimated. Needless to say, my mirror caps are still Alpine White, and I'll be getting estimates to wrap the roof/rails, fin, and mirror caps.

I have a few feet of wrap left, and I'm wondering what else I could possibly use it on. I was thinking about doing the interior trim, but I'm not sure that would be a good alternative to OEM gloss black interior trim. Has anyone else done that and maybe have some pics? Also, thinking about using it on the exterior B pillar trim. Anyone else have some other ideas?
      08-01-2015, 07:38 PM   #2
RarScaryFrosty
First Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2013 328i xDrive

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpjustinn View Post