E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Wash, Wax, Detailing and Cosmetic protection/repairs > i think i messed up big time!

06-01-2008, 09:01 PM   #1
Geektechlive
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2022 M3 Competition

Garage List
i think i messed up big time!

I also posted this out on Autopia as well:

i am new to detailing and i even practiced on my wifes red focus before going at it on my black 328xi..

I am using zaino zfx and a PC.

my problem is this... I am putting it on very thin and the odd thing is I have left the z2 and z5 on for up to 1 hour and when i do the "finger swipe" test the zaino still smears. what gives?
I ended up after 1 hour and 30 minutes to moisten a MF towel with Z6 and buff the z5 and then z2 out but i must be doing something wrong.

the last application of z2 i did was by hand and i used the pad that comes with the kit. it actually seemed harder since the z6 dried on the paint and left spots that I had to use more z6 to buff out... which of course left smears.

any thoughts on what i am doing wrong?

Here are some pics...

and another one

how can I get rid of these smears without making more scratches??

--
Owner of a 2022 M3 Competition AWD in Individual Voodoo Blue and Fiona Red leather
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2008, 01:04 AM   #2
SpecC
Completely obsessed with detailing
Rep
Drives: E90 SG 330i, white Scion tC

bump for you. im not sure at this time what it is, but maybe someone else online can provide you with some insight. i'll check on it again later too
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2008, 02:15 AM   #3
PlatinumEdition
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: !

Garage List
2017 BMW 740i  [0.00]
what speed on the pc are you polishing at? speed might be too low and is not breaking down the polish
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2008, 02:40 AM   #4
Sam12345
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: jet black 335i coupe

Garage List
2008 335i Coupe  [0.00]
bump for you