E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > those with sws-8

06-06-2008, 10:54 AM   #1
ontopofm
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: stock

those with sws-8

what are your settings for gain, bass boost, and low pass filter? im very new to this audio thing so i dont know how to set them, i have alpine m500, thanks
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2008, 11:40 PM   #2
jcarlucci1
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: Jet Black 335i

Just installed mine today with an mtx 350 watts rms amp. Gain is about 30%, bass boost 6db @40hz, crossover around 100hz. Sounds pretty good..
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2008, 12:05 AM   #3
sageashton
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2006 325i, Manual

I run mine with a couple of different settings, but the best all around is at 150hz, no boost, gain is set at about 25%. Your gain should be pretty easy though, play some music and bring it up till it sounds good with the other speakres but make sure there is no distortion.
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2008, 09:33 AM   #4
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
United_States
Rep
Drives: F34 xDrive

Since every amp's internal speaker level input varies in attenuatuation, no one's gain setting is terribly relevant unless it is the same amp. So turn it until it sounds good
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2008, 12:11 PM   #5
ontopofm
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep

the gain is at about 15-20%, anything higher than that it would be too much bass and the front fenders and side skirts would vibrate especially when outside the car with doors closed, but then music cant be turned out too loud bcuz i would hearing hissing sound when the music is paused. so lil bass when volume is low, cross over is at 100 hz and bass boost is at 0, im using Malek EQ settings, what can I do?
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2008, 06:43 PM   #6
Technic
Lieutenant General
Rep
Drives: 2021 i3S, 2024 i4 M50

Quote:
Originally Posted by ontopofm View Post