BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

12-30-2008, 11:32 PM   #1
mechanicalmagic
Private
United_States
Rep
Drives: 135i Cashmere Silver

Returning to AutoX help needed

First, I'm a noob here. Been lurking, and now need some advise, the car is near.

I am an old guy. I did autox in the late 60's VW Ghia, (did pretty good) and early 70's with a Tiger. But, then family, kids and stuff got in the way.
Now I'm 60+, my 135i is at sea, due Port Huneme on 1/6/09 (Heijin). I plan to do a few autox in the SF Bay area, am a member of BMW CCA. I'm not into straight line, other than having a timing slip.

My car: manual, with sports package, daily driver. Weekend autox, real track time will be limited to BMW CCA, SCCA driver draining programs. (I can't afford a non-insured OOPS).

So, to the question.
It seems that understeer is common, but for autox, I would think keeping the rears on the ground is most important. So, a MORE beefy front sway bar lmight be needed. It may push, still get around quicker, since the rear has traction. I would like to stay legal in class.

TIA for any info, I'm off to the Rose Bowl, SHE is PSU. I may be at Port Huneme when my new love arrives.

DJ
Appreciate 0
      12-31-2008, 12:12 AM   #2
nordique14
Major
No_Country
Rep
Drives: SGM 135i 'vert

The local BMW autox does not use the SCCA rules. It is points based. Each car gets assigned base points and then each mod is assigned a certain amount of points on top of that. Then you get classed based on how many points you have. You can check out the system here:

http://autox.ggcbmwcca.org/classify.php