E90Post

TNT Racewerks

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > turbo upgrade with catted downpipes?

02-17-2012, 05:58 AM   #1
Schnitzel
Private First Class
Germany
Rep
Drives: E92 335i MT

turbo upgrade with catted downpipes?

Hi guys, I have mods as stated below and want to do a turbo upgrade soon.

PROcede rev 3
PWM meth kit
Riss Racing catted downpipes
Spearco Code3 FMIC
DCI
ACT street clutch (coming soon)
BMW performance exhaust

My question now is: When I do a turbo upgrade, should I swap the catted downpipes for catless downpipes? Since now I have no issues but I don't know if the exhaust restriction would be too high and the turbos can't breathe properly.

Your comments are welcome.
      02-17-2012, 06:19 AM   #2
Zebra99
Colonel
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2011 335is E93

Garage List
I'm no expert, but I thought we had 3" piping from cat back...that being said, with catless DP's you may have the perfect set-up for the larger turbos. After all you need back pressure to help build the boost no?

That's unless you go and put truck turbos on it and will need 4-5" piping lol

You should ask the few guys here with the RB set-up or any of the vendors working on larger turbo set-ups. There exp. would be invaluable here.
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2012, 06:23 AM   #3
enrita
Major General
Sweden
Rep
Drives: 335i - Big turbos

i would go catless dps. just take them out and empty out the cats from yours.
07 335i AT - MOTIV 750 - MHD E85 BMS flash - BMS PI - JB4G5 - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - Custom midpipes with 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - LUX H8 - Level 10 AT upgrade
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2012, 07:26 AM   #4
nitehawk
Lieutenant Colonel
Canada
Rep
Drives: e92 335i 6MT

Garage List