E90Post

Studio RSR

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Newbie Questions of e90 engine swaps

04-28-2012, 12:26 AM   #1
hankock
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: 335i sedan

Newbie Questions of e90 engine swaps

First off I am a noob in BMW's. Came form working on old school v8's(loving summit racing), and Imports as honda's.

And im not trying any swap on my 335i just curious about he topic.

But i would like too know why every time i search for engine swap people always steer them away from doing it, or they always suggest v10 swaps or refer people to the hartge which is hella expensive.

Why doesn't anyone look at the v8 from the 550i or x5? is it just because of the wiring and hassle of putting the swap into the chassis, or does the engine not provide a performance side to those engines. i know wiring would be a headache on its own.
Appreciate 0
      04-28-2012, 08:58 AM   #2
project6
TOML Rescue
Rep
Drives: Prancing Horse

I would venture to guess that working on old school V8s and affordable imports (BMWs are imports, too) would be less costly. Parts are more readily available due to the popularity of the hobby.

Look at the roots of hot rodding. You start with a beater or a base that you can buy for not a huge amount of money and work on it (or throw money at it)until it turns into the beast that you want.
Appreciate 0
      04-28-2012, 09:02 AM   #3
John 070
Lieutenant General
Rep
Drives: 335i cpe

V8's have a common issue where they leak coolant when they get older, and it's a 9-12k job at the dealer. Who needs that?
Appreciate 0
      04-28-2012, 09:11 AM   #4
RoundelM3
Major General
United_States
Rep
Drives: 15 F80 M3, 22 G01 X3 30i

Garage List
2022 BMW X3  [9.83]
2015 BMW M3  [6.50]