ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Technical Talk > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

07-31-2012, 02:42 AM   #1
Finnegan
Dog Listener
United_States
Rep
Drives: Z4M/. Z3M, E36/46 M3

Here are a few laps from my outing a couple of week's back. I still have a lot to work on (I'm still a noob with only 8 track days), but I'm consistently turning 2:14/2:15 laps on the standard configuration (over the top of 5). I'm not so concerned with the time (can't say I'm unhappy either), but rather that it's consistent now, which is an improvement. I really need to work on turn 8, and to a lesser degree turns 7, 9, and 14. There's improvement there over my last time at the track, but damn, just about everything could be better! Like Dubbedown (aka DSC_OFF) said, you quickly learn how much skill is involved.

Equipment:
Very tired 235/265 Star Specs (almost corded by end of day), ATE Blue fluid, StopTech Street Performance Pads, -2.7 front (washers), 1/16th toe-out, -1.7 rear, 1/16th toe-in, stock springs and dampers, stock wheels.

Special thanks to SeanK for letting me ride along for several sessions in the Advanced Group and for providing some coaching to me from the passenger seat while I drove in the Intermediate Group. Definitely helped me improve my line into several corners, gave me things to practice and think about (no, still don't have all of them down). Seeing better drivers in action, in the same car, really gives you a sense of what is possible.

I'm open to any input from more experienced drivers! You'll notice my line though the esses varies: sometimes I go through, sometimes I don't "cut". This is intentional, and for practice.