E90Post

Extreme Powerhouse

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing / Warranty > Valve colver leak or something lease?

02-12-2014, 05:08 PM   #1
prepster
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: bmw 335i

Valve colver leak or something lease?

Hi everyone, Im still a noob when it comes to bmw engines, so I was hoping if some one can confirm of my situation which I think is a valve cover leak. I recently started observing smoke and burnt oil smell coming from my engine, so today i removed the engine plastic cover and found oil in-between the lobes of the valve cover. There was a good amount too, but then again my car has been smelling like burnt oil for sometime. Any help would greatly be appreciated. thanks
Attached Images

Appreciate 0
      02-12-2014, 05:40 PM   #2
123Britt
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: 15 M235i AT

YES

Most likely a valve cover leak. If you pull the coils -- you will most likely find that they have oil soaked tips.
My car looked like this and I replaced it myself. Used OEM Gasket and HondaBOND sealant in the leak prone areas. I would suggest having it replaced by an indy along with : Oil filter housing gaskets if you haven't already done so. Look in coolant reservoir and see it oil is in coolant (mine was).
Plastic VCover is prone to crack and is a pain to remove. It will get worse so you will need to get this done - soon.
Appreciate 0
      02-12-2014, 05:54 PM   #3
prepster
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: bmw 335i

Quote:
Originally Posted by 123Britt View Post
Most likely a valve cover leak. If you pull the coils -- you will most likely find that they have oil soaked tips.