European Auto Source (EAS)
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Forum > BMW M3 (F80) and BMW M4 (F82) General Forum

07-14-2018, 03:35 PM   #1
austinm4x
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: M4 ZCP

Considering M4, is it "safe" for me?

Hello everyone, new to the forums. Been spending a lot of time here browsing and decided it was time to get down to business. I thank you all for your time.

I'm a 33 year old male, not impulsive, never been in an accident. I'm not a professional/semi-professional driver whatsoever, and I don't plan to become one. I don't care about the track either.

I've been saving a while for "dream car", and I would probably just get a 440 xdrive, but I love the way the M4 looks. And I certainly won't be spending 60,000$ for a car that doesn't meet every requirement I am looking for (fast and good looking).

Basically what I am wondering is, if I keep DSC fully on, all the safety features on, etc. do I have to worry about spinning out from a red light "race" and crashing into the car next to me or a tree, etc? I put race in quotes because it's typically just the take off to 40-60mph then I slow down. It's far from any type of real aggressive street race, I do these little take offs in my old G35 everyday and never had an issue.

So yeah, that's my question, is the M4 okay as a daily driver or will I always have to fear that if I give it some gas, I might spin out of control.

Also, I am looking at a 2017 M4 ZCP (DCT) if that matters. (I read here that there was a change in low end torque from earlier years).

Thank you all for your time.
Appreciate 0
      07-14-2018, 03:40 PM   #2
Sassicaia
Brigadier General
Canada
Rep
Drives: SMB F80 6MT

You will be fine.

For a piece of mind id suggest taking one of the many BMW defensive driving courses to boost confidence.
Appreciate 0
      07-14-2018, 03:41 PM   #3
JTK24
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: F80